Women’s IPL: BCCI To Allow Five Overseas Players In Playing XI


Women's IPL: BCCI To Allow Five Overseas Players In Playing XI
Kate Cross in CSK Jersey | Source: Twitter

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is all set to host the first-ever player auction for the inaugural edition of Women’s IPL in February next month.

Earlier, Viacom 18 won media rights for WIPL for a period of five years (2023-2027) for $116.7 million with per match value coming down to approximately $857,000.

The tournament will be starting in March 2023 and is likely to be completed in a one-month window. A plethora of overseas players has reportedly registered for the auction.

Five Overseas Players Allowed In WIPL

Ellyse Perry
Ellyse Perry | Source: Twitter

In another significant development, the BCCI will allow five overseas players in the playing XI with at least one player from an Associate country allowed in the XI, Cricbuzz reported on Thursday, January 19.

This rule is quite different from men’s IPL, where only four foreign players are allowed to the playing XI. Also, picking at least one cricketer from an associate nation is not mandatory in the men’s IPL.

“The teams will have the option of fielding five foreign players as long as the fifth player is from an Associate nation,” a BCCI source said.

Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings, Delhi Capitals, and the IPL’s defending champion Gujarat Titans will compete to purchase teams in the IPL for women.

Royal Challengers Bangalore and Lucknow Super Giants are the two remaining franchises, that will not participate in the bidding for the five-team Women’s IPL, which is set to begin in March. The BCCI is expected to reveal the name of the five franchises on January 25.